AAS Historical Astronomy Division Annual Report 2010

Jarita Holbrook, Chair

11 May 2011

This report describes the activities of the Historical Astronomy Division [HAD] in calendar year 2010.

Membership

HAD had about 304 active members (including 41 division affiliates) at the end of 2010, of whom some 20% were emeritus. Dues remained constant at \$8 for members and \$10 for affiliates.

Officers and Committee

Officers of the Division for 2010 were Thomas Hockey (University of Northern Iowa), Chair; Jarita C. Holbrook (University of Arizona), Vice Chair; Joseph S. Tenn (Sonoma State University), Secretary-Treasurer; and Sara Schechner (Harvard University), Past Chair. They and the two committee members at large, Kevin Krisciunas (Texas A&M University) and James Lattis (University of Wisconsin, Madison) made up the HAD Committee. An election was held during the year and Jay M. Pasachoff (Williams College) was elected Vice Chair and Richard Jarrell (York University) and Wayne H. Osborne (Central Michigan University) at-large members of the HAD Committee. They would take office in January 2011, when the Vice Chair would move up to Chair and the Chair to Past Chair.

Finances

At the end of 2010 HAD had \$16,851 in its account. The LeRoy E. Doggett Prize Fund had \$32,213. The Donald E. Osterbrock Book Prize Fund had \$14,973. We appreciate those AAS members who continue to donate to HAD and to the two Prize Funds.

Meetings

Although it has occasionally met separately, HAD in recent years has met annually in conjunction with the January AAS meetings. We had an excellent meeting at Washington D.C., in January 2010, together with the 215th AAS Meeting. There was one special HAD session, with 7 invited speakers, on the first century of astronomical spectroscopy, organized by Joseph S. Tenn. It was followed by three sessions containing a total of 15 contributed papers and a poster session of 4 papers.

LeRoy E. Doggett Prize recipient Michael Crowe (Notre Dame) delivered a plenary lecture titled "Seventeen Key Developments in the History of the Extraterrestrial Life Debate".

Travel

In October, HAD Secretary-Treasurer Joseph Tenn traveled to Washington to attend a meeting of the AAS Executive Council. He reported on the last year of HAD activities and exchanged ideas with the officers of the other AAS divisions. Among them was the plan to survey the membership, which would be implemented in 2011.

Prizes

The HAD Prize Committee in 2010 was chaired by past Chair Sara Schechner, and also included the HAD Chair, Thomas Hockey, the HAD Secretary-Treasurer, Joseph Tenn, and members-at-large Brenda Corbin (USNO) and Marc Rothenberg (NSF). Rules for the Donald E. Osterbrock Book prize for "the author(s) of a book judged to advance the field of the history of astronomy or to bring history of astronomy to light" were established by the HAD Committee, and fund-raising to endow the Prize was begun. The HAD Prize Committee selected Nathan Sivin (University of Pennsylvania) for Granting the Seasons: The Chinese Astronomical Reform of 1280, With a Study of Its Many Dimensions and an Annotated Translation of Its Records (New York: Springer, 2009 to receive the first Osterbrock prize in 2011. More than \$15,000 was raised for the Osterbrock Prize Fund in 2010. The biennial LeRoy E. Doggett Prize for Historical Astronomy is awarded in even-numbered years.

Publications

HAD News, edited by Tenn, was published in April 2010 and October 2010 (both available at

http://www.aas.org/had/hadnews/). Due to the efforts of Tenn, the HAD website now contains titles and links to abstracts of all papers presented at all HAD meetings (and other history papers presented to the AAS), what is believed to be a complete set of HAD News, links to all obituaries published in the BAAS, and a selection of links to important online sources for history of astronomy.

Obituary Committee

The Historical Astronomy Division is responsible for the preparation of the memorials to deceased members of the AAS that are published annually in the *BAAS*. Under the editorship of HAD Vice Chair Jarita Holbrook, 20 obituaries were submitted in 2010, and several more arrived after the deadline. She was aided by incoming Vice Chair Jay Pasachoff. The AAS is expected to continue making all obituaries produced by HAD available online via the SAO/NASA ADS website.

Other

Portions of the AAS Directory having to do with HAD were updated. We are grateful to the American Astronomical Society for establishing a special registration rate for Division Affiliate members attending only the HAD portion of the January 2010 AAS meeting.